How do I disable the save password option in Windows NT Dial-Up Networking (DUN)?

Export to PDF | Export to DOC

Cause: The Dial-Up Networking (DUN) program allows you to save a user name and password for each of your dial-up connections. While this is convenient, it’s very insecure, especially when most dial-up networking is done on laptops, which are easily stolen.

Solution: To prevent users from saving passwords, launch RegEdit and add the REG_DWORD value DisableSavePassword value to the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\RasMan\Parameters key and set it to 1. Once this is done, DUN will no longer display the Save Password checkbox and it will forget all the passwords it had been told to remember. Remember to back up your Registry before making any manual changes to it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *